Attention: You are using an outdated browser, device or you do not have the latest version of JavaScript downloaded and so this website may not work as expected. Please download the latest software or switch device to avoid further issues.

News > Alumni News > OMK Day and Dinner 2024

OMK Day and Dinner 2024

The Sun Came Out!!
A walk down memory lane 30 years on
A walk down memory lane 30 years on

We were blessed with beautiful sun shining on OMK Day which certainly set the tone for a very joyous time indeed. There were over one hundred OMKs involved in various aspects of the day.

The golfers were the first to get underway up at Tavistock Golf Club.  With David Anthony (1950-1955) as mastermind and Caolan Wukics (Commerical Manager at Mount Kelly) by his side, it was always going to be a huge success.  A great time was had by all and winners were:  Chris Anthony (1992-1997) with the Members’ Prize while runners up were jointly Hugh Walkington (1997-2014) and Niel O'Neill (1961-1967); Individual Visitor Prize went to Isaac Staig (2010-2021) while the runner up was Caolin Wukics; Leading Lady was Nikki Ormond (1975-1977); Nearest the Pin was Hugh Walkington and Gross Eagle went to Isaac Staig.

Back at school, the OMK cricketers took on the 1st XI who batted first for a total of 138 runs. This was always going to be a tough chase for the OMK team as bowling is the strength of the 1st XI this year. Good tight bowling with a strong field set restricted the OMK team to 98 all out making the MK team winners. We very much look forward to next year when we will be trying a Friday night T20 for a bit of added excitement.

Meanwhile, pupils were on hand to take OMK visitors and their families for a walk down memory lane.  They thoroughly enjoyed hearing their stories and antics!  Some OMKs skipped the tour to try out the 50m Legacy Pool and we all met up again for a delicious tea, which was a real treat.

The evening got off to a great start with a short Chapel Service led by Andrew Corness (1985-1987) with readings and the Roll of Remembrance read by Sixth Form pupil leaders, Brooke, Rory and Dania. We then moved to the veranda where we enjoyed a glass of fizz (and the view!) before dinner.  After a fantastic three courses, we were led in a Loyal Toast by Chair of Governors, Ian MacQueen, and we then enjoyed a very fine cheeseboard while listening to the speakers, Head Master Guy Ayling, and Tessa Clarke (1992-1994).  Tessa is a very successful businesswoman and entrepreneur who was named Veuve Clicquot Bold Woman of the Year 2023.

We were delighted to welcome OMKs from all vintages to the events of the day and we are already looking forward to the next one!

More photos 


To view this News Article

Similar stories

Most read

Have your say

This website is powered by